The 2018 NGC Bocas Lit Fest line-up of writers, speakers, and performers.

Adalber Salas Hernández

Poet | Essayist | Translator

Afua Hirsch

Writer | Broadcaster | Barrister

Alex Wheatle

Multi award-winning British novelist

Alexander Girvan

Environmental economist

Alexandra Stewart

Writer and Spoken Word Artist

Alison Donnell

Head of School of Literature, Drama, and Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia

Amanda T. McIntyre

Writer | Cultural activist

André Alexis

2017 Windham-Campbell Prize Winner

Andre Bagoo

Author of 'The Undiscovered Country'

Angelique V. Nixon

Writer | Artist | Teacher | Scholar | Activist | Poet

Anthony Joseph

Poet | Novelist | Musician

Anu Lakhan

Writer | Editorial consultant

Barbara Jenkins

Award-winning author

Barbara Lalla

Professor Emerita of language and literature | Novelist

Bhoendradatt Tewarie

Former principal UWI Saint Augustine | Naipaul scholar

Black Sage

Calypsonian | Extempo lyricist

Breanne McIvor

Author of Here There Are Monsters

Bridget Brereton

Professor Emerita of history | Author

Carolyn Cooper

Professor Emeritia of literary and cultural studies | Broadcaster | Columnist

Celeste Mohammed

2018 PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers Winner

Colin Robinson

Poet | Journalist | Human rights activist

Corine La Font

Publishing consultant

Damian Whiskey

Midnight Robber

Danielle Boodoo-Fortuné

Winner of the 2019 OCM Bocas Prize for Poetry

Danielle Fraser

Library Conservator | Head of the Preservation and Conservation (PAC) Laboratory

Danielle Legros Georges

New England Poetry Club’s 2016 Sheila Margaret Motton Book Prize Winner | Boston’s second poet laureate

David Chariandy

2017 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Winner

Debbie Jacob

Journalist | Librarian

Deneka Thomas

Spoken word poet

Derron Sandy

Spoken word poet

Eleanor Catton

2013 Man Booker Prize Winner

Elizabeth J. Jones

2018 CODE Burt Award for Young Adult Caribbean Literature Finalist

Erna Brodber

Activist | Scholar | 2017 Windham-Campbell Prize Winner

Evelyn O’Callaghan

Chair of the non-fiction judges for the 2018 OCM Bocas Prize

Funso Aiyejina

Deputy Festival Director, NGC Bocas Lit Fest | Nigerian prize-winning writer based in Trinidad

Imam Baksh

2018 CODE Burt Award for Young Adult Caribbean Literature Finalist
Ingriod Persaud

Ingrid Persaud

Author of 'Love after Love'

Ira Mathur

Journalist and writer

Jacob Ross

Author of 'Black Rain Falling'

Janet Smyth

Edinburgh International Book Festival Children & Education Programme Director

Jeannine Remy

Fullbright fellow | Lecturer

Jennifer Rahim

2018 OCM Bocas Prize Winner, Fiction

Jeremy Poynting

Founder and Managing Editor of Peepal Tree Press

Joanne V. Gabbin

Professor of English at James Madison University

Judy Raymond

Author of Beryl McBurnie

Katia D. Ulysse

Goucher College’s Spring 2017 Kratz Writer in Residence

Kaveh Akbar

Multi award-winning poet

Kei Miller

2017 OCM Bocas Prize Winner, Fiction

Keith Jardim

Author of Near Open Water

Kelly Baker Josephs

Editor of sx salon

Ken Ramchand

Professor Emeritus of West Indian literature | Literary critic

Kevin Jared Hosein

Winner of the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Kumar Mahabir

Assistant Professor UTT | Author

Lauren K. Alleyne

Author of Honeyfish

Lisa Allen-Agostini

Author of 'Home Home'

Loretta Collins Klobah

Prize-winning Poet

Lorraine Nero


M. James Cooper

Author of Tomorrow, Please God: The Seven Narratives

Maria Nunes

Photographer | Producer

Mariel Brown

Award-winning documentary filmmaker | Director of SAVANT Ltd

Marina Salandy-Brown

Founder and Director of the NGC Bocas Lit Fest

Mark Loquan

Honorary Founding Director of the Music Literacy Trust  

Mervyn Taylor

Poet | Visual artist

Michael Kelleher

Director of the Windham-Campbell Literature Prizes at Yale

Monique Roffey

Author of 'The Mermaid of Black Conch'

Muli Amaye

Author of A House With No Angels
Myron Bruce

Myron B

2018 Extempo Champion

Nestor Sullivan

Chairman Eastern Region and VP & Public Relations Officer of the Steelband Association (Pan Trinbago) | Operations Manager of T&T National Steel Orchestra

Nicholas Laughlin

Programme Director of the NGC Bocas Lit Fest

Philip Nanton

Author of Frontiers of the Caribbean

Raymond Antrobus

Award winning British-Jamaican poet

Rhoda Bharath

Caribbean writer | Political and cultural blogger

Richard Georges

Author of 'Epiphaneia', 2020 OCM Bocas Prize Overall Winner

Romesh Gunesekera

Sri Lanka-born, British writer | Short-listed for the Booker Prize and the Guardian Fiction Prize

Rudolph Ottley

Assistant Professor at the Academy of the Arts

Rudylynn De Four Roberts

Past President and Fellow of the Trinidad and Tobago Institute of Architects

Savitri (Savi) Naipaul Akal

Author of The Naipauls of Nepaul Street

Shakirah Bourne

2018 Burt Award Finalist

Shara Mccallum

2018 OCM Bocas Prize Winner, Poetry

Sharifa Ali-Abdullah

Representative of the United Nations Development Programme for T&T

Sharon Millar

Award-winning author

Shivanee Ramlochan

Poet |  critic | book blogger

Sonia Farmer

Author of 'The Best Estimation in the World'

Stephen Stuempfle

Executive Director of the Society for Ethnomusicology

Sunity Maharaj

MD of the Lloyd Best Institute of the West Indies | Journalist

Sushiela Nasta

Founding Editor of Wasafiri: Magazine of International Contemporary Writing

Tracey Baptiste

Young adult and children's author

Tracy Assing

Writer | Editor | Filmmaker

Vahni Capildeo

Author of 'Skin Can Hold'

Vicki-Ann Assevero

International lawyer | Social entrepreneur

Viviana Prado-Núñez

2017 CODE Burt Award for Caribbean Young Adult Literature Winner