The 2016 NGC Bocas Lit Fest line-up of over 90 writers, speakers, and performers.

Adam Andrews

Writer, musician, and academic

Akilah Jaramogi

managing director of the Fondes Amandes Community Reafforestation Project

Aliyyah Eniath

Author of The Yard

Alscess Lewis-Brown

Educator and children’s author

Anderson Patrick

Traditional Carnival performer, Black Indian mas

Andre Bagoo

Author of 'The Undiscovered Country'

Andrew Fitt

Author of Aching to Be

Angelique V. Nixon

Writer | Artist | Teacher | Scholar | Activist | Poet

Anna Levi

Author of Madinah Girl

Anton Nimblett

Author of Sections of an Orange

Anu Lakhan

Writer | Editorial consultant

Ararimeh Aiyejina

Trinidadian writer

Ariana Herbert

Spoken Word Artist

Arielle John

Writer | Cultural Researcher

Attillah Springer

Writer and activist

Ayanna Gillian Lloyd

fiction and creative non-fiction writer

Barbara Jenkins

Award-winning author

Betty Peter

Author of Brown Sugar and Spice

Black Sage

Calypsonian | Extempo lyricist

Brandon O’Brien

writer featured in New Worlds, Old Ways: Speculative Tales from the Caribbean

Brendon O’Brien

writer and performer

Bridget Brereton

Professor Emerita of history | Author

Carolina Arrieta Castillo

Lecturer in Spanish at the UWI, St. Augustine

Che Lovelace

Trinidadian artist

Claire Armitstead

Books editor for UK Guardian and Observer

Colin Robinson

Poet | Journalist | Human rights activist

Colleen Selvon-Rampersad

Secretary of the Writers Union of Trinidad and Tobago

Damian Whiskey

Midnight Robber

Daniel José Older

Brooklyn-based writer, editor, and composer

Danielle Delon

Editor of Bridges of Trinidad and Tobago

Danielle Fraser

Library Conservator | Head of the Preservation and Conservation (PAC) Laboratory

Danielle Y.C. McClean

2016 Burt Award winner

Darlington Henry

Traditional Carnival performer, Black Indian mas

David Codling

British Council Regional Arts Director, Americas

David Furlonge

Head Cricket Coach at the Queen’s Park Cricket Club

Debbie Goodman

Manager, Corporate Communications, NALIS

Deborah Jean-Baptiste-Samuel

Founder of the Oratory Foundation

Deryck Murray

President of the Queen’s Park Cricket Club

Désha A. Osborne

Editor of Hiroona

Dionne Brand

Poet, novelist, and essayist

Earl Lovelace

Critically-acclaimed Trinidadian writer

Elisha Efua Bartels

Writer | Performer | Director

Elizabeth Solomon

human rights activist

Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw

Author of 'Stick No Bills'

Elspeth Duncan

Author of Daisy Chain

Evelyn O’Callaghan

Chair of the non-fiction judges for the 2018 OCM Bocas Prize

Fazeer Mohammed

Talk show host and commentator

Florenz Webbe Maxwell

2016 Burt Award winner

Francis Lovell

Minister in the Ministry of Education

Funso Aiyejina

Deputy Festival Director, NGC Bocas Lit Fest | Nigerian prize-winning writer based in Trinidad

Garfield Ellis

Jamaican author of The Angels' Share

Geeta Ramsingh

Musician and President of the Hindu Prachaar Kendra

Gemma Robinson

Editor of Martin Carter’s University of Hunger: Collected Poems and Selected Prose

Gerard Besson

Historian, writer, and founder of Paria Publishing

Gillian Royes

Author of The Shad detective series

Gillian Slovo

South African writer

Gordon Rohlehr

Professor Emeritus of West Indian Literature at UWI, St. Augustine

Hadassah K. Williams

Writer featured in the anthology New Worlds, Old Ways: Speculative Tales from the Caribbean

Hannah Lowe

Poet and author of Long Time, No See

Ian F. Ali

English teacher and writer

Ibrahim Ahmad

Senior editor at Akashic Books

Jacob Ross

Author of 'Black Rain Falling'

Jacqueline Bishop

Writer | Visual Artist

Jeremy Poynting

Founder and Managing Editor of Peepal Tree Press

John Robert Lee

Author of 'Pierrot'

Joshua Lue Chee Kong

Artist & cultural activist

Judith Theodore

Artist, author, playwright and actress

Judy Raymond

Author of Beryl McBurnie

Julian Rogers

veteran broadcast journalist

Julie Morton

children's book publisher
June Aming

June Aming

Trinidadian writer shortlisted for Small Axe competition 2014

Kamila Shamsie

Pakistani author of six novels

Karen Lord

Author of 'Unravelling'

Karen McCarthy Woolf

Forward Prize nominated poet

Ken Ramchand

Professor Emeritus of West Indian literature | Literary critic

Kenny Philips

music producer

Keron Niles


Kevin Jared Hosein

Winner of the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Kizzy Ruiz

performer and calypsonian

Kurt Allen


Kwame Ryan

Canadian-Trinidadian conductor

Kyle “Skeeto” Amos

Founder of ONE MIC

Lance Dowrich

2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize winner

Lizabeth Paravisini-Gebert

Professor of Caribbean culture and literature at Vassar College

Lynette Seebaran-Suite

Chairman of the Trinidad and Tobago Equal Opportunity Commission (EOC)

Maria Nunes

Photographer | Producer

Marina Salandy-Brown

Founder and Director of the NGC Bocas Lit Fest

Marjorie Thorpe

Vice Chief Judge of the 2016 OCM Bocas Prize.

Mark Loquan

Honorary Founding Director of the Music Literacy Trust  

Marlene Attzs

Lecturer in the Department of Economics, UWI

Marlon James

Winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize

Marsha Gomes-McKie

Founder of Caribbean Books Foundation

Martin Daly

Senior Counsel of Trinidad and Tobago

Melanie Archer

Book designer and co-editor of Robert & Christopher Publishers

Merissa Aguilleira

Trinidadian batsman

Michael Anthony

Caribbean author and historian

Michael Cherrie

Actor and drama coach

Michael Dash

Professor of French, Social and Cultural Analysis, NYU

Michael Mooleedhar

Film director

Michelene Adams

English teacher at the University of Trinidad and Tobago

Miguel Browne

Storyteller and Talk Tent star

Nazma Muller

Journalist and writer

Nell Leyshon

British author of Memoir of A Dipper

Nickolai Salcedo

actor, musician and visual artist

Nikki Crosby

actress and comedienne

Olive Senior

Prize-winning Jamaican Writer

Paul Keens-Douglas

Actor, author, and storyteller

Paula Williams Madison

Media consultant and author of Finding Samuel Lowe

Pauline Melville

Guyanese/British writer

Penelope Spencer

Actress, Author

Polly Pattullo

Co-founder of Papillote Press

Portia Subran

Trinidadian artist and writer

Ramabai Espinet

Academic, writer, and critic

Reginald Dwayne Betts

US author of Bastards of the Reagan Era

Rhoda Bharath

Caribbean writer | Political and cultural blogger

Ricardo Bharath Hernandez

Chief of the Santa Rosa First People’s Community

Rikki Jai

chutney soca artiste

Sarah Beckett

British born poet /artist

Sean Samad

Lecturer in Lusophone and Brazilian Culture

Sharon Jorcil-James

Education Manager at Nigel R. Khan Booksellers Ltd.

Sharon Millar

Award-winning author

Shivanee Ramlochan

Poet |  critic | book blogger

Sonia Farmer

Author of 'The Best Estimation in the World'

Sterling Kent aka Gamma Ghost

lyricist, performer, midnight robber

Summer Edward

Poet and children's writer

Sylvan Joseph

Traditional Carnival performer, The Bookman

Tamika Gibson

Author of Dreams Beyond the Shore

Tishani Doshi

Writer of poetry and fiction

Tony Hall

Playwright, screenwriter, actor and director

Tracy Assing

Writer | Editor | Filmmaker

Ty N. Batson

Author of Mr. Big

Vahni Capildeo

Author of 'Skin Can Hold'

Valerie Taylor

Education and Development Consultant

Vanda Radzik

Guyanese cultural activist

Wendell Manwarren

actor and musician