The 2019 NGC Bocas Lit Fest line-up of writers, speakers, and performers.

Abigail Parry

Author of Jinx

Alake Pilgrim

Fiction Writer

Alexia Arthurs

Author of How to Love A Jamaican

Amílcar Sanatan

Writer | Academic | Activist

Andre Bagoo

Author of 'The Undiscovered Country'

Anthony Wall

Arena Film Director and Creative Advisor

Anu Lakhan

Writer | Editorial consultant

Arielle John

Writer | Cultural Researcher

Attillah Springer

Writer and activist

Ayanna Gillian Lloyd

fiction and creative non-fiction writer

Barbara Lalla

Professor Emerita of language and literature | Novelist

Black Sage

Calypsonian | Extempo lyricist

Breanne McIvor

Author of Here There Are Monsters
Brian London

Brian London


Bridget Brereton

Professor Emerita of history | Author

Canisia Lubrin

Author of 'The Dyzgraphxst'

Caryl Phillips

Author of A View of the Empire at Sunset

Celeste Mohammed

2018 PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers Winner

Christine Norton

Director of The Noel Norton Collection Limited

Claire Adam

Author of Golden Child

Colin Robinson

Poet | Journalist | Human rights activist

Danez Smith

Winner of the Forward Prize

Danielle Boodoo-Fortuné

Winner of the 2019 OCM Bocas Prize for Poetry

Derry Sandy

Author of Greyborn Rising

Desiree Seebaran

Winner of the 2019 Queen Mary Wasafiri New Writing Prize for poetry

Diana Evans

Author of Ordinary People

Diana McCaulay

Author of 'Daylight Come'

Earl Lovelace

Critically-acclaimed Trinidadian writer

Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw

Author of 'Stick No Bills'

Emma D’Costa

Commonwealth Foundation

Esbeth Callender-Braithwaite

Author of Empty Arms

Franka Philip

Journalist and Media Consultant

Funso Aiyejina

Deputy Festival Director, NGC Bocas Lit Fest | Nigerian prize-winning writer based in Trinidad

Gabrielle Hosein

Head of the Institute for Gender and Development Studies, UWI St. Augustine

Gary Hector

Founder of T&T band jointpop

Gary Younge

Award-winning author, broadcaster and columnist

Gordon Rohlehr

Professor Emeritus of West Indian Literature at UWI, St. Augustine

Heather Cateau


Hon. Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders

President of the Caribbean Court of Justice

Ian Randle

Ingriod Persaud

Ingrid Persaud

Author of 'Love after Love'

Ivette Romero


Jacob Ross

Author of 'Black Rain Falling'

Jacqueline Laguardia

Cuban academic

Jane Bryce

Professor Emerita, UWI Cave Hill

Janet Steel

Commonwealth Writers

Javier Carbajosa

Ambassador of Spain to Trinidad and Tobago

Jeanelle Frontin

Author of The YaraStar trilogy

Jennifer Thomas-Straker

Author of The Village, The Child

José Serulle

Ambassador of the Dominican Republic to Trinidad and Tobago

Judy Raymond

Author of Beryl McBurnie

June Soomer

Secretary General of the ACS

Karen Lord

Author of 'Unravelling'

Keith Jardim

Author of Near Open Water

Ken Ramchand

Professor Emeritus of West Indian literature | Literary critic

Kendel Hippolyte

Poet, playwright and director

Kevin Adonis Browne

Winner of the 2019 OCM Bocas Prize

Kevin Jared Hosein

Winner of the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Krystal A. Sital

Author of Secrets We Kept: Three Women of Trinidad

Lesley-Ann Brown

Author of Decolonial Daughter: Letters from a Black Woman to her European Son

Lisa Allen-Agostini

Author of 'Home Home'

Lucy Hannah

Writer and producer

Luke Neima

Online editor and digital director of Granta magazine

Marcia Douglas

Author of The Marvellous Equations of the Dread

Margaret Busby

Editor of New Daughters of Africa (anthology)

Maria Nunes

Photographer | Producer

Mariano Brown

political commentator and former Minister

Marina Warner

Writer of fiction, cultural history, and criticism

Mark Lyndersay

Photographer and reporter

Marlon James

Winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize

Merle Hodge

Co-facilitator of the Cropper Foundation Writers’ Workshop.

Motilal Boodoosingh

Author of Kal Kahanis

Muli Amaye

Author of A House With No Angels

Nalo Hopkinson

Jamaican-Canadian Speculative Fiction Writer

Néhémy Pierre Dahomey

Poet, philosopher and novelist

Nicholas Laughlin

Programme Director of the NGC Bocas Lit Fest

Nicola Ramsaran

Author and mental health advocate

Nicole Sealey

Author of Ordinary Beast

Nigel Campbell

Music Industry Analyst

Patti-Anne Ali

Writer, Director, Actor

Paula Gopee-Scoon

Minister of Trade and Industry

Prithiviraj Bahadursingh

Author of 'For The Love of Pan'

Raymond Ramcharitar

Writer, journalist, cultural critic

Regina Dumas

Author of Memoir of a Cocoa Farmer's Daughter.

Ruth Osman


Schuyler Esprit

Cultural studies academic and founder of Create Caribbean Research Institute

Selwyn R. Cudjoe

Professor of Africana Studies at Wellesley College

Sharda Patasar

cultural researcher & musician

Sharlan Bailey

Musician, composer/songwriter, producer, and performer

Shivanee Ramlochan

Poet |  critic | book blogger

Sofia Chote

Attorney and Independent Senator

Stella Chong Sing

Writer in We Mark Your Memory

Tamika Gibson

Author of Dreams Beyond the Shore

Theresa Awai

Author of 'Swing High, Iron Pot and Other Stories'

Tristan Walker

Author of Another Last Chance

Vashti Bowlah

Author of Sugarcane Valley

Yuri Herrera

Author of Signs Preceding the End of the World